QB64 Phoenix Edition
Screen size - Printable Version

+- QB64 Phoenix Edition (https://qb64phoenix.com/forum)
+-- Forum: QB64 Rising (https://qb64phoenix.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Code and Stuff (https://qb64phoenix.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+---- Forum: Help Me! (https://qb64phoenix.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+---- Thread: Screen size (/showthread.php?tid=2568)



Screen size - emfril - 04-03-2024

I have written a program that reads the coastline coordinates of the continents and prints custom perspectives. I've been using SCREEN 12, which is 320x240 pixels:

https://emf.neocities.org/tmp/WestCiv.png

I would like to make the screen bigger, but if I use the _FULSCREEN command the image is distortedQ

https://emf.neocities.org/tmp/WestCiv2.png

I could of course change the code so that the full screen is not distorted. But I wonder: Is there a way to  make it as big as possible but preserve the aspect ratio?

And, even better: can I specify the size of a (larger) screen in pixels? I would certainly like to increase the shight of the image to that of my screen and have a better resolution.

Thanks.


RE: Screen size - RhoSigma - 04-03-2024

(04-03-2024, 10:08 PM)emfril Wrote: I have written a program that reads the coastline coordinates of the continents and prints custom perspectives. I've been using SCREEN 12, which is 320x240 pixels:

https://emf.neocities.org/tmp/WestCiv.png

I would like to make the screen bigger, but if I use the _FULSCREEN command the image is distortedQ

https://emf.neocities.org/tmp/WestCiv2.png

I could of course change the code so that the full screen is not distorted. But I wonder: Is there a way to  make it as big as possible but preserve the aspect ratio?

And, even better: can I specify the size of a (larger) screen in pixels? I would certainly like to increase the shight of the image to that of my screen and have a better resolution.

Thanks.

You can set up any screen you want, look into the examples for _NEWIMAGE in our Wiki.

You may use the returns of _DESKTOPWIDTH/_DESKTOPHEIGHT to make a screen as big as your desktop, use _SCREENMOVE to move it to position 0,0 so it is fully visible.

Always remember, the Wiki is your friend.


RE: Screen size - Pete - 04-03-2024

Have you considered re-writing the entire program in SCREEN 0?

Pete Big Grin

- Never mind me, follow Rho's advice. _NEWIMAGE


RE: Screen size - SMcNeill - 04-03-2024

Easiest solution to this type thing:

$RESIZE:STRETCH

Or 

$RESIZE:SMOOTH

Add to the top of your window, then drag the edges to resize as needed.