Posts: 2,698
Threads: 327
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
217
Person | Awesomeness |
Steve | ULTIMATE!!! |
Everyone Else | meh... |
There now. That looks a little better.
Posts: 727
Threads: 103
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
14
(05-31-2024, 01:59 AM)SMcNeill Wrote:
Person | Awesomeness |
Steve | ULTIMATE!!! |
Everyone Else | meh... |
There now. That looks a little better.
Sweet!
Now if only there were a way to paste in rich text & tables from Word & Excel...
No, don't get up!
You've done enough, thank you! LoL
Posts: 422
Threads: 27
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
26
@SMcNeill
how did you enter that table?
trying to quote your post doesn't work for me, this forum works differently from every other forum that I visit, in those forums when you click on "reply with quote" it opens an edit box with the quoted message, on this forum when I click on quote nothing happens
Posts: 2,698
Threads: 327
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
217
(05-31-2024, 12:56 PM)Jack Wrote: @SMcNeill
how did you enter that table?
trying to quote your post doesn't work for me, this forum works differently from every other forum that I visit, in those forums when you click on "reply with quote" it opens an edit box with the quoted message, on this forum when I click on quote nothing happens
Code: (Select All) [table=80]
[tr][th] [style=background: #0000FF; color: #FFFFFF;] Person [/style] [/th][th] [style=background: #0000FF; color: #FFFFFF;] Awesomeness[/style][/th][/tr]
[tr][td] [style=background: Red; color: MidnightBlue; width: 70px;] Steve [/style][/td][td]ULTIMATE!!![/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Everyone Else[/td][td]meh...[/td][/tr]
[/table]
table <-- starts the table, with the =## representing the percent width of the screen you want it to use.
tr <-- this makes a row in the table
td <-- and this is a divider (so it makes columns)
th <-- and this does those headers (which is basically just a column with some highlight and color built in.)
and slash (/) before those code commands is needed to show where each table/column/row/header ends.
Posts: 422
Threads: 27
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
26
thanks a million Steve
Posts: 2,698
Threads: 327
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
217
05-31-2024, 01:13 PM
(This post was last modified: 05-31-2024, 01:14 PM by SMcNeill.)
(05-31-2024, 12:56 PM)Jack Wrote: @SMcNeill
how did you enter that table?
trying to quote your post doesn't work for me, this forum works differently from every other forum that I visit, in those forums when you click on "reply with quote" it opens an edit box with the quoted message, on this forum when I click on quote nothing happens
(05-31-2024, 01:09 PM)Jack Wrote: thanks a million Steve As for quotes, click on one and then look down at the lower part of the box where you type at... There should now be a message "You've selected quotes... Insert them now"
This lets you choose where in your post the quote may go, and also allows you to select multiple quotes and insert them all at once into your post. The way we do it actually is supposed to make things MORE flexible for you, once you get used to how it works.
See image above, right below the "POST REPLY" buttons.
Posts: 422
Threads: 27
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
26
thanks Steve
Posts: 727
Threads: 103
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
14
(05-31-2024, 01:07 PM)SMcNeill Wrote: (05-31-2024, 12:56 PM)Jack Wrote: @SMcNeill
how did you enter that table?
trying to quote your post doesn't work for me, this forum works differently from every other forum that I visit, in those forums when you click on "reply with quote" it opens an edit box with the quoted message, on this forum when I click on quote nothing happens Code: (Select All) [table=80]
[tr][th] [style=background: #0000FF; color: #FFFFFF;] Person [/style] [/th][th] [style=background: #0000FF; color: #FFFFFF;] Awesomeness[/style][/th][/tr]
[tr][td] [style=background: Red; color: MidnightBlue; width: 70px;] Steve [/style][/td][td]ULTIMATE!!![/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Everyone Else[/td][td]meh...[/td][/tr]
[/table]
table <-- starts the table, with the =## representing the percent width of the screen you want it to use.
tr <-- this makes a row in the table
td <-- and this is a divider (so it makes columns)
th <-- and this does those headers (which is basically just a column with some highlight and color built in.)
and slash (/) before those code commands is needed to show where each table/column/row/header ends. I would love the ability to paste directly from rich text into the forums editor, but if not then maybe we can create a QB64PE tool that takes a rich text copy of a table in the clipboard and autogenerates markdown from it, including links & basic text formatting?
For now I have Excel to avoid manually typing in everything, for example this table (from QB64.com > C Libraries)
C++ Variable Types
C Name | Description | Size | QB64 Type |
| Character or small integer. | 1 byte | |
| Short Integer(Word) | 2 byte | |
| Integer(Dword) | 4 byte | |
| Int32, Long integer or Long | 4 byte | |
| Long long (Qword) | 8 byte | |
| Boolean value true or false. | 1 byte | |
| Floating point number | 4 byte | |
| Double precision floating. | 8 byte | |
| Long double precision float | 10 byte | |
| | 2 or 4 | |
| void pointer(void *) | ANY | |
Was generated with Excel using the below macros for the links and some formulas (see screenshot for how to set up the formulas). Paste the table into the sheet and the row markdown is calculated in cells M2-M(endrow)...
Code: (Select All) ' /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
' FROM:
' vba - Extract URL From Excel Hyperlink Formula - Stack Overflow
' https://stackoverflow.com/questions/32230657/extract-url-from-excel-hyperlink-formula
' Excel VBA to extract Hyperlink from Hyperlink Formula - Super User
' https://superuser.com/questions/1313339/excel-vba-to-extract-hyperlink-from-hyperlink-formula
Public Function GetHyperLinkAddress(ByVal Target As Excel.Range) As String
Dim RoutineName As String:: RoutineName = "GetHyperLinkAddress"
Dim sFormula As String
Dim sExpression As String
Dim iStart As Long
Dim iPos As Long
Dim iEnd As Long
Dim sURL As String
Dim sSubAddress As String
Dim sFind As String
'Set Target = ActiveCell
sURL = ""
On Error Resume Next ' handle errors manually
If Target.Hyperlinks.Count > 0 Then
sURL = Target.Hyperlinks(1).Address
sSubAddress = Target.Hyperlinks(1).SubAddress
If Len(sSubAddress) > 0 Then
sURL = sURL & "#" & sSubAddress
End If
ElseIf Target.HasFormula Then
sFormula = Target.Formula
sFind = "HYPERLINK("
iPos = InStr(1, sFormula, sFind, vbTextCompare)
If (iPos > 0) Then
iEnd = InStr(iPos + 1, sFormula, ",", vbTextCompare)
If (iEnd > 0) Then
iStart = iPos + Len(sFind)
sExpression = Mid(sFormula, iStart, iEnd - iStart)
sURL = Evaluate(sExpression)
End If
End If
End If
If Err.Number <> 0 Then
Debug.Print CStr(Now) & " " & RoutineName & " failed with error #" & CStr(Err.Number) & ": " & Err.Description
Err.Clear
sURL = ""
End If
On Error Goto 0 ' resume automatic error handling
GetHyperLinkAddress = sURL
End Function ' GetHyperLinkAddress
' /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Public Function GetURL(ByVal Target As Excel.Range) As String
Application.Volatile
GetURL = GetHyperLinkAddress(Target)
End Function ' GetURL
Posts: 1,001
Threads: 50
Joined: May 2022
Reputation:
27
05-31-2024, 08:19 PM
(This post was last modified: 05-31-2024, 08:28 PM by Kernelpanic.)
The thing with the tables in HTML doesn't work. Or there is some kind of limitation.
Posts: 1,001
Threads: 50
Joined: May 2022
Reputation:
27
05-31-2024, 08:25 PM
(This post was last modified: 05-31-2024, 08:32 PM by Kernelpanic.)
The thing with the tables in HTML doesn't work. Or there is some kind of limitation. I can't undo this mess?
OK, now it's gone.
|