Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
SVG gradient example 1
A simple example showing how to make use of the SVG library in QB64 PE 3.9.0 and higher.

There are some peculiarities in how SVG and XML tags used to define the SVG graphics are parsed and rendered. I'm still learning how they all work myself and want to share as I go along. 

The _LOADIMAGE command is doing a lot of work here and the ability to load a SVG file from a string buffer out of memory let's us treat SVGs as an alternative and more power version of DRAW.

Go review  _LOADIMAGE - QB64 Phoenix Edition Wiki when you get a chance. 

The example program here will draw a big rounded-corner rectangle with a gradient fill in the middle of the screen. Press any key to exit. Read the comments for a hopefully useful description of what is going on in the program.
Code: (Select All)
 'SVG gradient example 1
'by James D. Jarvis Nove,ber 16,2023
'
'how to build an SVG gradient inside a rectangle with rounded corners within the program without needing to call an external file
'
Screen _NewImage(800, 500, 32)
Dim As Long simg 'we are going to draw the SVG into this image

'make a minimal header and footer to setup the SVG
svgheader$ = "<svg x='0' y='0' width='" + _Trim$(Str$(_Width)) + "' height= '" + _Trim$(Str$(_Height)) + "'  >" 'makes sure the SVG will match the screen 1 to 1
svgfooter$ = "</svg>" 'this indicates the end of the SVG

'gd$ is going to be the linear gradient
'gradients have to be defined before they can be called later in the SVG
'
gd$ = "  <defs> <linearGradient id='LGrad1' x1='0' y1='0' x2='0' y2='500'  >" 'x1,y1,x2,y2 establishes the gradient will run from top to bottom
'removing coordinate data from the line above will cause the gradient to be rendered from left to right as opposed to top to bottom
gd$ = gd$ + "      <stop class='stop1' offset='0%'stop-color='#550000' />" 'the gradient at this point is starting out dark red