Posts: 3,964
Threads: 176
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
219
Wow for some reason I got it in my head that LPrint didn't even work in QB64. I've got to try it out.
If I am printing a .bas source and the line is longer than 80 chars, is the next line the next line in program or the end of the line that didn't fit 80 char width?
b = b + ...
Posts: 2,696
Threads: 327
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
217
LPRINT just prints black text on whatever paper you have. It doesn't do images, page feeds, colors, or anything else. It's just for a quick print of black text on white paper (such as perhaps printing a text file).
As for Wordwrap, I have no idea, as I haven't actually used LPRINT in ages due to it's limitations. I'd rather print to the screen, format it and make it look like I want -- images, colors, and all -- and then simply _PrintImage that screen off.
Posts: 382
Threads: 56
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
13
I'm getting a error from my printer Steve. It won't print the document. Things seem to freeze on the computer screen while the printer is dealing with the code sent to it. Takes a little while before the error message and then the computer screen unfreezes. I can't seem to find what it's objecting to in the code. I thought LPrint and _Printimage had to be used together. I misread the wiki.
Thanks for that code and remarks. I'm going to play with it some more and see what my Epson is having trouble with.
Posts: 3,964
Threads: 176
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
219
@Dimster the lprint for qB64 needs a uSB port, the epsons I remember use serial or parallel not usb.
b = b + ...
Posts: 382
Threads: 56
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
13
Hi b : the epson is the ET-3850 series, it is wireless and I use LPrint all the time with it. Just trying to add some color to some of the text info I'm sending to the printer.
Posts: 382
Threads: 56
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
13
Hi b - I'm still messing with Steve's example using _Printimage. Ya, I've have seen some of your work with printing fonts. I'm typically using Lprint for a quick dump of either a print out of the code on my screen or a quick dump of the results of a program run that appears on my screen. Using the search and change feature I can change every Print to an LPrint and back again. Saves me a lot of coding time to build in the code to print do the same thing without Lprint. In fact, and I may have mentioned this before a while ago, I'd love to have a L? option.
Posts: 382
Threads: 56
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
13
As an update to the error I was receiving from my printer using Steve's code - SOLVED - turns out it was simple matter of commenting out that second "Sleep" in the code. Obviously the Epson took exception to Sleeping on the job.