Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
help needed
say i made a character whom has 0 stats and he faced a slime the slime had 50 hp and he dealt only 2 hits how do i put that on the code im very new to GW_BASIC
(05-01-2024, 01:32 PM)BloodyHash Wrote: say i made a character whom has 0 stats and he faced a slime the slime had 50 hp and he dealt only 2 hits how do i put that on the code im very new to GW_BASIC

welcome to forum @bloodyhash

though this is not a gw basic forum if you are new to basic you might use it to get started but gw forces you to use line numbers and all that is unneceassary when you move to higher QB's specially QB64pe used at this forum.

to get help you have to remember we cant read your mind and know wth you are talking about; stats is what kind of data structure? what properties do you have setup for charater, hero? = player/user controlled?, slime? 50 hp ??? hp = hit points or what?

this HI (human intelligence) needs more information, to be of help Smile perhaps some code posted of what you tried and better description of result you looking to accomplish....
b = b + ...
(05-01-2024, 01:32 PM)BloodyHash Wrote: say i made a character whom has 0 stats and he faced a slime the slime had 50 hp and he dealt only 2 hits how do i put that on the code im very new to GW_BASIC
This is a very quick demo of how I would approach this.

Code: (Select All)

TYPE WEAPON '              define weapons
    Name AS STRING '      name of weapon
    HitDamage AS INTEGER ' damage weapon inflicts
END TYPE

TYPE CHARACTER '          define characters
    HitPoints AS INTEGER ' hit points remaining
    Weapon AS WEAPON '    weapon character yielding
END TYPE

DIM Player AS CHARACTER '  create a player
DIM Slime AS CHARACTER '  create an enemy
DIM Axe AS WEAPON '        create a player weapon
DIM Spit AS WEAPON '      create an enemy weapon
DIM KeyPress AS STRING '  any keyboard key press
DIM Enter AS STRING '      the ENTER key