Posts: 128
Threads: 17
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
10
As an addendum to my prior post. https://qb64phoenix.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=2889
If I attempt to use INKEY$ with a fixed length string I get no values.
Here is an example:
Code: (Select All)
TYPE tt
' Use 2 bytes to capture 2 byte combinations
'k AS STRING ' Works
k AS STRING * 2 ' Does Not work
END TYPE
DIM AS tt t
DO
t.k = INKEY$
LOCATE 1, , 1
PRINT "k:"; t.k
LOOP
It doesn't appear to matter how many bytes I allocate, It does not work.
I know there are many workarounds, like using _KEYHIT, or not using fixed length strings.
Again, I'm on Linux using QB64pe v3.13
Posts: 303
Threads: 10
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
44
I think your program is just running too fast for the character to appear on the screen. Keep in mind that a fixed length string is never empty, so when you do the `PRINT` it will always put out two characters when printing the string. NUL bytes (CHR$(0)) will fill the fixed-length string when nothing was returned by INKEY$ and when printed those appear like a space, so they will overwrite whatever was previously on the screen.
Posts: 2,686
Threads: 326
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
215
Works as expected. Try this:
Code: (Select All)
TYPE tt
' Use 2 bytes to capture 2 byte combinations
'k AS STRING ' Works
k AS STRING * 2 ' Does Not work
END TYPE
DIM AS tt t
DO
t.k = INKEY$
PRINT "k:"; t.k
_limit 10
LOOP
The issue is you're printing it in an loop. You press "A", it pops up on the screen for a poop, and then the loop just keeps repeating, and it's replaced almost instantly by nothing as it waits for the next keypress to poop up the next key being processed.
Posts: 1,277
Threads: 120
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
100
I hate it when my "A"s poop on the screen!
New to QB64pe? Visit the QB64 tutorial to get started.
QB64 Tutorial
Posts: 128
Threads: 17
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
10
Posts: 3,922
Threads: 174
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
210
(07-28-2024, 04:17 PM)TerryRitchie Wrote: I hate it when my "A"s poop on the screen!
I hate it when my "A"s poop in my shorts.
TMI?
b = b + ...
Posts: 2,128
Threads: 218
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
100
07-29-2024, 06:12 PM
(This post was last modified: 07-29-2024, 06:48 PM by Pete.)
(07-28-2024, 04:07 PM)SMcNeill Wrote: Works as expected. Try this:
...
The issue is you're printing it in an loop. You press "A", it pops up on the screen for a poop, and then the loop just keeps repeating, and it's replaced almost instantly by nothing as it waits for the next keypress to poop up the next key being processed. Wow, missing out on that porta-potty contract is really eating at you!
Pete
- I'm in with the INKEY$ crowd!
EDIT: @ justsomeguy
I don't use a dim as string approach with INKEY$, I noticed this approach makes a null string as CHR$(32) + CHR$(32). That will be problematic if you intend to trap a spacebar press.
Code: (Select All)
Type tt
' Use 2 bytes to capture 2 byte combinations
'k AS STRING ' Works
k As String * 2 ' Does Not work
End Type
Dim As tt t
' Note you cannot detect a spacebar press with this 'Dim as String' approach.
Do
t.k = InKey$
If Len(LTrim$(t.k)) Then
Locate 1, 1
Print "k:"; t.k, Asc(Mid$(t.k, 1, 1)), Asc(Mid$(t.k, 2, 1)); " "; ' Cover up larger output strings.
End If
Loop
Posts: 128
Threads: 17
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
10
(07-29-2024, 06:12 PM)Pete Wrote: (07-28-2024, 04:07 PM)SMcNeill Wrote: Works as expected. Try this:
...
The issue is you're printing it in an loop. You press "A", it pops up on the screen for a poop, and then the loop just keeps repeating, and it's replaced almost instantly by nothing as it waits for the next keypress to poop up the next key being processed. Wow, missing out on that porta-potty contract is really eating at you!
Pete
- I'm in with the INKEY$ crowd!
EDIT: @justsomeguy
I don't use a dim as string approach with INKEY$, I noticed this approach makes a null string as CHR$(32) + CHR$(32). That will be problematic if you intend to trap a spacebar press.
Code: (Select All)
Type tt
' Use 2 bytes to capture 2 byte combinations
'k AS STRING ' Works
k As String * 2 ' Does Not work
End Type
Dim As tt t
' Note you cannot detect a spacebar press with this 'Dim as String' approach.
Do
t.k = InKey$
If Len(LTrim$(t.k)) Then
Locate 1, 1
Print "k:"; t.k, Asc(Mid$(t.k, 1, 1)), Asc(Mid$(t.k, 2, 1)); " "; ' Cover up larger output strings.
End If
Loop
You make a good point. I wonder why this is the way it works. It would make more sense to be filled with NULLs than spaces.
It would be also nice, that we have new LEN() function that returns the actual length of the string.
Posts: 2,686
Threads: 326
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
215
Wouldn't _KEYHIT simply be easier for this?
INKEY$ returns a 1 or 2-byte string value for user input. _KEYHIT returns that *exact* same value, except in Integer form, rather than string. You can easily convert between the two with the MKI$ and CVI commands. It just seems to me if you're always going to be dealing with 2-byte strings, that it'd probably just be more efficient overall to just use the integer values. There's always extra overhead when dealing with strings, and they're always slower than integers to process and handle, so I'd honestly just _KEYHIT over INKEY$.
Posts: 3,922
Threads: 174
Joined: Apr 2022
Reputation:
210
Quote:It would be also nice, that we have new LEN() function that returns the actual length of the string.
What! ? did someone not renew our license to Len()
Quote:Wouldn't _KEYHIT simply be easier for this?
yeah! and do you know that under IDE Menu > Tools > Insert Quick Keycode
you can insert the Keycode quickly, no number lookup!
Can notepad++ do that? ;-))
b = b + ...
|